Launch
  •  Six Priorities were selected by the Community to focus work on.

    1.  Create a community campus by building needed facilities and amenities.
    2.  Expand hands on STEAM opportunities for all students.
    3.  Address students' social needs (i.e. poverty, mental health) with community collaboration.
    4.  Offer a wide variety of course offerings and co-curricular activities to address students' needs.
    5.  Develop and expand community partnerships.
    6.  Implement and sustain up to date technology within the schools.  


     

  •  

    Launching A New Legacy Event - 2016

    launch group

    Launching

    Attendees participated in a brainstorm activity about the future of Columbus schools.  

    table speakers

    Participant Bill O'Donnell is reporting out to the group.  


    Newspaper coverage of the event from the Columbus Journal.  Click here.  


    A Community Conversation for Educational Excellence

    The community was invited for a conversation that will help shape the future of education in the Columbus School District!

    The purpose of this event was to engage the Columbus School District’s stakeholders in conversation that will create a shared understanding and clear vision of our future in education. 

    This was a gathering of community members, parents, students, teachers, business leaders, government officials, and others.

    During this three-day event, the group explored and analyzed the past, present and future of our school district.  Participant's thoughts and ideas will guide the future direction of the Columbus School District. 

    The time was filled with activities designed to receive input and will also include some entertainment. 

     


    The Launch was held at Kestrel Ridge Country Club.    

    Thursday, October 6, 2016        5:00 – 9:00 PM  
    Friday, October 7, 2016             5:30 – 9:30 PM  
    Saturday, October 8, 2016         8:30 AM – 2:30 PM  

    For more information, please contact the District Office at 920.623.5950.  


    DESIGN TEAM

    This Launching A New Legacy event could not have been planned without a wonderful group of community volunteers. 
    Residents serving on the Design Team for this event were:

    • Sarah Dahl----------------------------------- sjdahl@monsanto.com
    • Annette Deuman------------------- adeuman@columbus.k12.wi.us
    • Curt Hanson-------------------- chanson@midstateequipment.com
    • Cheryl Hoffman-------------------- choffman@columbus.k12.wi.us
    • Pastor Bob Moberg---------------- rvmoberg@faithcolumbuswi.org
    • Linda Parpart------------------------------ parpartlinda@yahoo.com
    • Erik Quamme------------------------- erik@quammeinsurance.com
    • Becky Schmidt---------------------- bschmidt@columbus.k12.wi.us
    • Jolene Schwoerer----------------- jschwoerer@columbus.k12.wi.us
    • Wendy Simyab------------------------------ wendy@kindredkids.org
    • Mike Thom------------------------------ michaelthom@sbcglobal.net
    • Kevin White----------------------------- kwhite@columbus.k12.wi.us
    • Adam Zahn----------------- 19zahna@students.columbus.k12.wi.us

    To view progress on the work that has been completed since October, 2016 toward these goals, click here.  



    Launching A New Legacy - 1 Year Anniversary, 2017

    cake  

    presentation